The Deconditioned Body

I am currently living in the most horrifically painful state I have ever been in, and it is a condition I promised myself (20 years ago) that I would never get to.
As a child, I was moderately obese up until my high school years when I joined athletics and began a regime of conditioning my body. For 18 years I used dedicated time management skills, followed a disciplined workout schedule, and nourished my body with foods that it could use as fuel for performance.
Recently, life changed. And I am now a “De-conditioned athlete”.
I don’t know what hurts more, the first step I take upon waking each morning, or the taunting memories of the strenuous workouts and exercise routines that I once adored. I guess it is a little bit of both with the final daunting conclusion that I will never again see the days of my youth. Every time I have to ice or wrap a joint just to make it through my day-to-day routine I am terribly reminded that my physical demise is on the rise.
But my hope for the future is based on the fact that I am a tripartite being which means there are three parts to me – spirit, soul, and body. In other words, I am a spirit, I have a soul, and I live in a body. It may be that my physical body, and it’s functionality, is declining daily, but the other two parts that make up my being are guaranteed with an eternal hope because I have received the promise salvation offered to me in Romans 10:8-11. I can confidently say that, “though my outer man (body) is decaying, yet my inner man is being renewed day by day” (2 Corinthians 4:16).
My spirit man cannot waste away because it is the spirit of God. God breathed His spirit into me and, at the very moment my body was filled with His breath, my soul was formed. My spirit is eternal, but there are two different eternities available to it. It is the choice of my soul to determine which eternity my Spirit will choose – either Heaven or Hell (Joshua 24:15). My soul is the central operating system of my being, in outward reflection, it is my personality. The parts of my personality or self-expression include my intellect, desires, willpower, emotions, and affections. My soul is the seat of my values and understanding. As central operating system, it is the joining wire of my spirit and body. The condition of my soul and it’s choice of the eternity I seek is what allows my body to act out the hope of my spirit.
In all my athletic pursuits, much preparation and discipline were necessary. And so it is with Godliness, but even more so. 

“For physical training is of some value (useful for a little), but godliness (spiritual training) is useful and of value in everything and in every way, for it holds promise for the present life and also for the life which is to come.”  1 Timothy 4:8 AMP

 I must use dedicated time management skills, follow a disciplined Word-workout schedule, and nourish my body with spiritual foods that will fuel my performance as carrier of this eternal torch of eternity.
Now that I am beyond my peak physical performance years, all that remains are the memories (good or bad; painful or comforting). But eternity is still a long way off and I have yet to reach the extent of peak performance for my soul, but, just as Paul, I remain in a constant training cycle in preparation for that event (1 Corinthians 9:24-27).
What about you?  R U Fit-4-Eternity?

other relevant scriptures:  1 Corinthians 1:18; 1 Corinthians 15:42-58; Colossians 1:27

2 Responses to “The Deconditioned Body”

  1. Karen Boudreaux Says:

    Beyond your peak performance years????? Absolutely false statement…. Wendolynn “The Best is yet to come.” Take from someone 10 years older than you…. You are right in the middle of your prime… YOU GO GIRL!!!! Can’t wait to see what God does in and through you… But you can forget spinach cheese nachos at the hornets game….

  2. MoeinNOLA Says:

    I second what P Karen said. Your best days are most definitely ahead. God has great plans for the faithful!

Leave a Reply

