Goin’ Through

I was driving down St. Charles Ave., admiring the beautiful day God had created. The weather was perfect – the temperature was in the mid-70’s with a slight breeze and the sky was crystal blue with no clouds. My soul was at peace. I was enjoying the view of the street cars passing by afternoon joggers and getting a feel for the real essence of New Orleans – A city built for people to enjoy.

Just as I crossed under I-10 and entered Lee Circle, in that very small split second, my mind wandered from thoughts of contentment and fell onto thoughts of my current state of financial discontent. In an instant, almost the entirety of my 36 and a half years flashed into my memory. I recollected countless days of working 12 to 18 hours and anywhere from 1 to 3 jobs per day. In the next split of that same second, I let out a despairing plea asking God, “why has my life been so hard, will it ever get easier?”

Then it hit me, the realization of Genesis 3:17-19. Because Adam disobeyed God, mankind today is still reaping what he sowed. “Cursed is the ground … in pain you shall eat … thorns and thistles [the ground] shall bring … you shall eat the plants of the field … by the sweat of your face you shall eat bread until you return to the ground.” Adam made a choice that will affect the rest of eternity.

But God made a choice as well and it is His choice that created eternity – eternity for our soul. Long before Adam fell and even before the first star shined, God chose to orchestrate a path of redemption for those of us who concede the error of Adam’s ways and strive toward the better Way.

In this plan of redemption, God has given us a living hope.

“Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! According to his great mercy, he has caused us to be born again to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, to an inheritance that is imperishable, undefiled, and unfading, kept in heaven for you, who by God’s power are being guarded through faith for a salvation ready to be revealed in the last time.” 1 Peter 1:3-4

In other words, as long as we live through Jesus Christ, we can take possession of this gift. This gift is peace – spiritually, emotionally, physically, and financially. But, as Jesus said in John 14:27, this peace does not come in the same manner as worldly peace. In fact, in John 16:33, right after he tells us that we should have peace, he says that in the world we will have trials. This is a very hard pill to swallow, but if we are to fully receive the gift God has prepared for us, we must learn to see our lives through the eyes of Jesus. The trials we encounter in this world are a direct result of Adam’s punishment for his disobedience, but, because of God’s redemptive plan, it is through those same trials that we learn obedience. As we pursue our redeemer through these stepping stones of obedience, our final outcome is worth far more than materialistic value. What we will have gained on the journey is Truth no one can take from us.

So, the answer to my questions . . . it has to be hard so I will value the gift and yes, it will get easier. In fact, it already has. If I remember the hope I have within then I can realize that it is not my efforts that push me through life, but my resting in Him that thrusts me to victory.

It is Christ in me, the hope of glory (Colossians 1:27). What about you?

As I rounded Lee Circle and came out the other side, I took a sigh of relief because I was just “goin’ through . . . ”

Other Scriptures: Romans 10:9-10; 2 Corinthians 4:7-10; Hebrews 11:1; Hebrews 12:1-2

One Response to “Goin’ Through”

  1. MoeinNOLA Says:

    Excellent word. Going through. It puts things in perspective. Oral Roberts once said, if you’re going through hell, don’t stop and set up camp there, keep moving. I thought about that over the years and realized hanging onto past hurts, and lack of trust in the Lord for my future, causes me to set up camp in the middle of my crisis. I need to keep moving down the path the Lord has set for me and trust Him every step of the way!

Leave a Reply

